Skip Navigation

News & Events

The 2018 Elite Trial Lawyers Finalists

law journal header

Our editors and reporters reviewed more than 300 law firm submissions. These finalists excel in plaintiffs’ client matters.

By Lisa Helem

We are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2018 Elite Trial Lawyers. Editors and reporters from ALM and The National Law Journal reviewed more than 300 submissions across 23 categories to arrive at this list. The lawyers and law firms selected as finalists have demonstrated exemplary performance in cutting-edge work on behalf of plaintiffs over the last 18 months.

This year, we also recognize our inaugural class of finalists for Elite Women of the Plaintiffs Bar. This new recognition category celebrates women lawyers who have consistently excelled in high-stakes matters on behalf of plaintiffs over the course of their careers.

In addition to celebrating the Elite Trial Lawyers of 2018, ALM will present the Keith Givens Visionary Award at the ceremony. Givens’ career includes more than 30 years as a civil trial lawyer representing consumers and injury victims. The award, presented in Givens’ name, will honor him in this inaugural year and will be presented to other honorees in future years.  ALM will also honor Mark Lanier of The Lanier Law Firm with the Outstanding Trial Lawyer Award. Lanier and another plaintiffs’ lawyer recently won the largest verdict yet, nearly $4.7 billion, on behalf of plaintiffs in talc litigation. For more detailed information on these special awards,  read our press announcement on

The 2018 Elite Trial Lawyers winners will be announced at the Elite Trial Lawyers event on Oct. 5, 2018, at the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas. Congratulations to the finalist lawyers and law firms.

—Lisa Helem, Editor-in Chief, The National Law Journal


  • Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein
  • Lanier Law Firm
  • Seeger Weiss
  • Podhurst Orseck
  • Simmons Hanly Conroy
  • Hagens Berman Sobol Shapiro
  • Neblett, Beard & Arsenault
  • Kiesel Law


schwartz logo