Skip Navigation

News & Events

DBR Announces Legal Industry Professional Exellence Honorees

Staff report

Three legal industry veterans have been selected as finalist for the Daily Business Review’s attorney of the year award to be presented May 24 in Miami.

Al Dotson of Bilzin Sumberg, Kara MacCullough of Greenberg Traurig and William Scherer of Conrad & Scherer will be recognized at the DBR’s Professional Excellence awards event at the Rusty Pelican.

In other recognitions, Jesse Diner of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney, Robert Josefsberg of Podhurst Orseck and Patricia Lebow of Broad and Cassel will be given lifetime achievements awards.

Legal industry luminaries to be honored as distinguished leaders are Alex Acosta of Florida International University School of Law; Bobby Brochin of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius; Bowman Brown of Shutts & Bowen; Raoul Cantero of White & Case; Kelly-Ann Cartwright of Holland & Knight; Daniel Casey of K&L Gates; Ira Coleman of McDermott Will & Emery; Marcia Cypen of Legal Services of Greater Miami Inc.; Jaret Davis of Greenberg Traurig; Wifredo Ferrer of Holland & Knight; Michael Goldberg of Akerman; Matthew Gorson of Greenberg Traurig; Alan Greer of Richman Greer; Harvey Gurland of Duane Morris; Don Horn of the Miami-Dade state attorney’s office; U.S. District Judge Daniel T.K. Hurley; Steve Marks of Podhurst Orseck; Mark Raymond of Broad and Cassel; Joseph Serota of Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman; and John Sumberg of Bilzin Sumberg.

The annual On the Rise honorees are Javier Avino of Bilzin Sumberg; Enjolique Aytch of Akerman; Ryan Bailine of Greenberg Traurig; Dan Barsky of Shutts & Bowen; Kristin Bianculli of Kelley/Uustal; David Black of Berger Singerman; Rebecca Bratter of Greenspoon Marder; Marko Cerenko of Kluger Kaplan; Miesha Darrough of the U.S. attorney’s office; Brian Ercole of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius; Chad Friedman of Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman; Steven Gonzalez of Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial; Seth Haimovitch of KO Lawyers; Derek Harris of Carlton Fields; Josh Levenson of Holland & Knight; Elijah Levitt of the U.S. attorney’s office; Marbet Lewis of Greenspoon Marder; Alejandro Miyar of Fox Rothschild; Leanne Reagan of Akerman; Eric Rosen of Kelley/Uustal; Alec Schultz of Leon Cosgrove; Nicole Scott of Holland & Kinght; Carol Thorstad-Forsyth of Fox Rothschild; Driscoll Ugarte of Duane Morris; Anthony Vernace of Greenberg Traurig; Olga Vieira of Carlton Fields; and Jaime Lee Vining of Friedland Vining.

Honorees for Legal Department of the Year and Litigation Department of the Year will be announced later.